New Rajya Sabha members, including S Jaishankar and Derek O’Brien, to take oath on August 21. Recent session events also highlighted.

New Rajya Sabha members, including S Jaishankar and Derek O'Brien, to take oath today.
New Rajya Sabha members, including S Jaishankar and Derek O’Brien, to take oath today.

New Members Elected for Rajya Sabha

Nine members who have been elected or re-elected to the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of India’s Parliament, are all set to take their oaths on August 21. This includes prominent figures like S Jaishankar from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Derek O’Brien from the Trinamool Congress.

BJP Members Taking Oath

The newly elected Rajya Sabha members from the BJP are Nagendra Ray, Kesridevsinh Digvijaysinh Jhala, Babubhai Jesangbhai Desai, and S Jaishankar.

Trinamool Congress Members Joining

From the Trinamool Congress, the members who will be taking their oaths are Dola Sen, Sukhendu Shekhar Ray, Prakash Chik Baraik, Samirul Islam, and Derek O’Brien.

Jaishankar’s Nomination and Past Role

In July, S Jaishankar, who is currently the External Affairs Minister, filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat’s Gandhinagar. He had previously been elected as a Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat in 2019 when he became a part of the Union Cabinet.

Suspension Incident Involving Derek O’Brien

During the recent monsoon session of Parliament, there was an incident involving Derek O’Brien, a leader from the Trinamool Congress (TMC). He was almost suspended from the Upper House due to his actions. The Chairman, Jagdeep Dhankar, initially announced O’Brien’s suspension for the rest of the session, but he was allowed back into the house after about 35 minutes.

Motion to Suspend O’Brien

Union Minister Piyush Goyal moved a motion to suspend Derek O’Brien for the duration of the monsoon session. This decision came after O’Brien attempted to speak under rule 267, which is the rule used by the Opposition alliance to request a discussion on the Manipur issue.

Earlier Election Schedule and Results

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had earlier announced the schedule for elections across 10 Rajya Sabha seats. The election took place in Goa, Gujarat, and West Bengal on July 24, with the vote counting also occurring on the same date.

Stay tuned to The Indian Kit for the latest news and articles from India. Get updates on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. Don’t miss out on the action!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *